Ego Traps

The following is from http://stephaniedunn86.wordpress.com written after coming across a posting on FB about how stealthy our ego can be. I thought they were worth sharing.

Okay, only a part of me. I came across this in one of the groups I’m in on Facebook and it gave me a chuckle. Because let’s be honest people, our ego does funny things some times. And sometimes without us even realizing it at first.

I also just got off the phone with a loved one upon seeing this picture. Rather synchronistic I think because I was just saying how I knew a particular situation was teaching me the importance of not fretting if someone is addressing something in their life in a different way than I would. I’ve realized it’s much easier to relax and be witness to things unfold as they do, when I do not have an emotional bond with the person. My ego tends not to get in the way very often when it comes to how strangers live their lives – I’ve harnessed the judge-y (yes, I just used that made up word), condemning of strangers part of that bad boy pretty good. ;)

However, when you have an emotional connection with someone, you genuinely want the best for them (stating the obvious here) and the good ol’ ego likes to get in there and essentially say, ‘I’m spiritual blah, blah, blah…I know what’s better for you than you do so you should really be doing this instead of what you thought was a good idea. Or because I do this and you’re not choosing to go this way, (insert judgement here).’ You can be whatever you want to be and slap whatever label on it – “spiritual” or otherwise, but just remember it takes all kinds of people walking many different paths, finding and living their own truths that make this beautiful world go ’round…neither mine or yours is the right one. It just is. Woah. Now how’s that for a mind-bender? :)

With love and ego in-check, S.

 

One comment on “Ego Traps

Leave a comment